We are excited that both Miles Taylor and Sean Tachibana as second-year graduate students in the Group have been awarded the 2017 NSF's East Asia and Pacific Summer Institutes (EAPSI) Fellowship!

Miles will conduct research in the laboratory of Prof. Dr. Justin Hodgkiss at School of Chemical and Physical Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington on the topics of "Monitoring High Resolution Broadband Fluorescence of the Green Fluorescent Protein Model Chromophore" in the general field of physical chemistry and ultrafast spectroscopy. Miles' trip is also co-sponsored by the Royal Society of New Zealand.

Sean will perform research under the guidance of Prof. Dr. Moritoshi Sato at Department of Multi-Disciplinary Sciences, The University of Tokyo about "Mechanistic understanding of light sensitive proteins for biomedical applications" in the general field of Chemical Biology. Sean's trip is also co-sponsored by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS).

Congrats again and wish you two a productive Summer 2017 in New Zealand and Japan! We look forward to lots of stories upon your return and great projects for years to come. We appreciate the support from all the funding agencies and host institutions/labs/PIs around the Pacific.